Liquor & Leaves #2

LL02 (shantytown)

Friday night’s liquor:
 Bombay Gin martini
Friday night’s book:
Shantytown by César Aira

NOTES: I’m reviewing Shantytown, so I won’t write much here except to say that it’s the first Aira novella I’ve read that I’ve fully loved. There are always aspects of his short books that I admire, marvel at, and laugh over. For whatever reason, this is the first one where his poker-faced combo of surrealism, slapstick, and realism works for me all the way through. He’s endlessly intriguing and inventive; this time, he’s coherent, too. Oh, the martini: This is my standard cocktail, the only one I can make with any confidence, other than a Negroni. My recipe: 3 parts gin, 1 part sweet vermouth, a thimble’s worth of Campari, shake hard over ice until my fingertips are blue and hurting, strain into chilled cocktail glass, and garnish with two olives.

 

About Walter Biggins

Walter Biggins is a writer based in Athens, GA. His work has been published in RogerEbert.com, Bookslut, The Comics Journal, Salon, The Baseball Chronicle, Jackson Free Press, and Valley Voices: A Literary Review. Follow him on Twitter (@walter_biggins), and check out his bimonthly newsletter (https://tinyletter.com/Walter_Biggins).
This entry was posted in Beer & Book. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

