Treme

If anything causes me to break my embargo on men, other than the aforementioned Stephen Dixon collection that's forthcoming (apparently now in August rather than May), it will be a show set in my 2nd-favorite city, post-Katrina, created by the folks behind The Wire. I cannot believe how excited I am about this series.

(Thanks, Undercover Black Man.)

About Walter Biggins

Walter Biggins is a writer based in Athens, GA. His work has been published in RogerEbert.com, Bookslut, The Comics Journal, Salon, The Baseball Chronicle, Jackson Free Press, and Valley Voices: A Literary Review. Follow him on Twitter (@walter_biggins), and check out his bimonthly newsletter (https://tinyletter.com/Walter_Biggins).
This entry was posted in Television. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Treme

  1. Michael says:

    I should sign up for HBO just to see this. (I had heard Simon was working on something about New Orleans but wasn’t aware of the trailer until you posted it — much appreciated, Walter.) Have you by any chance seen his mini-series, “Generation Kill?” I got that in my Netflix queue right now.

  2. Michael, good to hear from you; I hope all’s well in L.A., despite the breakdown of the U. of California’s finances. I haven’t seen Generation Kill–it’s in my queue, too. When it initially came out, it got mixed reviews but critical re-assessments seem to praise it more highly these days.

  3. Michael says:

    Walter, things are going well here, though, yes, it’s tough being in public education these days. By the way, I did receive a copy of The Patter of Raindrops. Nicely done. It’s given me some ideas of films to add to my queue, as I’m still sort of a Miyazaki novice. Looking forward to them, along with Simon’s GK.

  4. Wax Banks says:

    I recognized the opening note as the prelude to ‘Congo Square,’ and the hair on my neck stood up. Leave it to Simon and company to make Marsalis seem menacing and joyful all at once. I didn’t know it was possible to be a motherfucker on the tambourine ’til I heard Herlin Riley. Well: leave it to Marsalis to teach me a thing or two at years’ and miles’ and worlds’ remove. Peace all over.

  5. Ernesto says:

    2nd favorite city? What’s first?

  6. Ernesto: As long as Chicago exists, it’ll be my favorite city.

Leave a Reply

