New day rising

Okay, it’s been a long time comin’. I’ve re-designed the website completely. In doing so, I tried to make it look a little more modern. I think it’s pretty spiffy, considering that I did it myself using only OpenOffice and Microsoft Paint, and I have absolutely no training whatsoever in graphic design. What do you think?

In any case, that’s obviously not the big news. That comes in threes. 1) As is obvious from the banner, I’ve revealed my real name. I’ve been doing this, by degrees, over the last two years or so. So, it’s official. 2) There’s a button below the banner that gives easy access to the articles I’ve published under my own name.  As for item #3, well…

There’s a new sheriff in town, people, and she’s a doozy. The Patter of Raindrops: The Wonderful Worlds of Hayao Miyazaki is here, after a long delay. 40 pages, 5.5 inches by 8.5 inches, three new essays, with a gorgeous cover illustration by, um, gorjus—it can all be yours for a measly five bucks. Anyone who donated $10 or more last year will be getting a copy free; if you don’t recall, shoot me an email at wbiggins2 at gmail dot com. For everyone else, please click the “zines” button for more information and to place an order.

It’s good to be back, to be out in the open, and to release a new zine into the wild.

About Walter Biggins

Walter Biggins is a writer based in Athens, GA. His work has been published in RogerEbert.com, Bookslut, The Comics Journal, Salon, The Baseball Chronicle, Jackson Free Press, and Valley Voices: A Literary Review. Follow him on Twitter (@walter_biggins), and check out his bimonthly newsletter (https://tinyletter.com/Walter_Biggins).
This entry was posted in Me, Miyazaki, Zines. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New day rising

  1. ernesto says:

    Not fair. This post contains more than just the words New Day Rising sung in different inflections. I protest.

  2. Phil Bencomo says:

    Nice work, and the new zine looks great, too.
    Cheers.

  3. Michael says:

    Diggin’ the new look, Walter. And looking forward to the new zine. Cheers.

  4. Thanks, guys. Ernesto, the headline was basically written for you.

  5. LL says:

    I like the design tons.

  6. LMc says:

    Hey, congratulations, it looks great and I can’t wait to read your new zine!
    LMc
    ps: is LL who I think it is?

  7. Lynn says:

    The site looks great but to be honest the light text on white background is a little bit hard to read on my monitor.

  8. Thanks, everyone. LMc: I think LL is who you think it is. Lynn: Which text are you referring to? I didn’t change the color of the main body text nor the white background that it rests on. Do you mean the sidebars?

Leave a Reply

