My secret admirer

Whatever-works

My parents aren’t responsible for it.  La Bella swears she didn’t do it.  I certainly didn’t request it.  So, I’m grasping at straws.  Today, FedEx delivered, to my doorstep, a one-sheet movie poster for Woody Allen’s Whatever Works, straight from the movie’s distributors.

The movie stars Larry David, a man I consider to be a comic genius.  Longtime readers know of my complicated love for Woody Allen.

Anyway, the delivered poster is SIGNED BY LARRY DAVID.

The ALL CAPS should indicate my level of shock, and the depth of my gratitude to you, whoever you are, who sent this fabulous gift.  Thank you.  Feel free to fess up.

UPDATE (7/24/09): Mystery solved.

About Walter Biggins

Walter Biggins is a writer based in Athens, GA. His work has been published in RogerEbert.com, Bookslut, The Comics Journal, Salon, The Baseball Chronicle, Jackson Free Press, and Valley Voices: A Literary Review. Follow him on Twitter (@walter_biggins), and check out his bimonthly newsletter (https://tinyletter.com/Walter_Biggins).
This entry was posted in Film, Me. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My secret admirer

  1. Winter says:

    do share details…

  2. I’m going to just quote my email to Ernesto: “I wish the answer were more dramatic. Turns out I had entered a contest through the Onion’s A.V. Club to win a signed poster for Whatever Works. It was simple–just send your name and address to the email address provided by the A.V. Club–so I had totally forgotten about it. So, I figure I must have been one of the winners. I never win anything, so it took me a day to put two and two together.”

  3. Winter says:

    Ah.
    Well, maybe Michael Chabon is sending you those CAR WASH 10% OFF coupons, too. I mean, you never know.

Leave a Reply

