Studs stands tall

I’ve expressed my discomfort with biographies and memoirs before, but I will read this one. Studs Terkel is one of the great American heroes, and it’s a joy to know that he’s still kicking and still putting out books at a faster pace than, say, Jeffrey Eugenides. Alternet interviews him on the eve of his 95th birthday, and on the cusp of the publication of Touch and Go, his first–and, says Terkel, only–memoir. A taste:

So this is your life story, finally.

There’s an ironic, and very funny, secret to my success: my ineptitude, mechanically. I can’t use a machine, or drive a car. And I make mistakes on the tape recorder. Now the tape recorder was important to two Americans, I think, more than anyone else. To myself and Dick Nixon. I call Dick Nixon and me the New Cartesians, as in Descartes [Rene Descartes, the 17th century philosopher and mathematician]. The Latin phrase is cogito ergo sum–“I think, therefore I am.” In the case of Dick Nixon and me, it’s, “I tape, therefore I am.”

Incidentally, The Onion’s A.V. Club conducted a long 2003 interview with the man.

UPDATE: Fellow Chicago boy Roger Ebert wishes Studs a happy birthday.

About Walter Biggins

Walter Biggins is a writer based in Athens, GA. His work has been published in RogerEbert.com, Bookslut, The Comics Journal, Salon, The Baseball Chronicle, Jackson Free Press, and Valley Voices: A Literary Review. Follow him on Twitter (@walter_biggins), and check out his bimonthly newsletter (https://tinyletter.com/Walter_Biggins).
This entry was posted in Books, Current Affairs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Studs stands tall

  1. OutOfContext says:

    Hard Times and The Good War really made history a living thing to me as a young man. One story in Hard Times sticks out in my mind: A man tells how, after not having any food for quite a while, he comes upon a truck filled with oranges. His mouth is cracked and dry from travelling and the acid in the oranges hurt his mouth, but he continues to eat until he’s full.
    What a great guy…willing to listen, let others speak and just use his talent to pick out what is important and illuminating. Not too many people with his voracious appetite for knowledge around anymore…

Leave a Reply

