Douglas Adams, in 1979

I thought I’d save this for tomorrow’s monthly “Out and About” segment, but I can’t wait until then. Bookslut has unearthed a two-part interview with Douglas Adams, conducted in 1979 but mostly unpublished until now. It has sound clips. It’s pre-fame and pre-books, when Hitchhiker’s existed only as a six-part radio series, and Adams was making ends meet as a script editor for Doctor Who. So, it’s early in the game for him.

At this point, you either know precisely and care deeply about who Adams is, and are saying “holy freaking shit” right now… or this entire post is completely meaningless to you. For the holy-shitters out there, here’s part 1 and part 2. Apparently, a third part is forthcoming next month. A taste:

It was a couple of days after that that the title came. I had quite a lot of separate plots in my mind, each of which involved the end of the world, so we thought we were going to do six independent half-hour stories, each ending with the end of the world. The thing was going to be called The Ends of the Earth, or something. Then I suddenly remembered what had struck me six years previously–but I hadn’t done anything about it and hadn’t even remembered in the intervening time–which was when I had been hitchhiking around Europe, when I was a student or just before I went up to Cambridge, I had this book called The Hitchhiker’s Guide to Europe. And I remember wandering into a campsite in Innsbruck late one night, being not entirely sober, and the stars were all out and I just remember thinking at that time, “Somebody should write a hitchhiker’s guide to the galaxy.”

Go, now.

About Walter Biggins

Walter Biggins is a writer based in Athens, GA. His work has been published in RogerEbert.com, Bookslut, The Comics Journal, Salon, The Baseball Chronicle, Jackson Free Press, and Valley Voices: A Literary Review. Follow him on Twitter (@walter_biggins), and check out his bimonthly newsletter (https://tinyletter.com/Walter_Biggins).
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Douglas Adams, in 1979

  1. Thank you! Thank you! Thank You! Gracias! Domo arigato gozaimasu!
    Just kidding.
    Never mind the other head. Focus on the first line.

Leave a Reply

