And away we go…

I’m headed to Chicago this morning, armed with knowledge both real and imagined about the greatest city north of the Mason-Dixon line. On the plane, I’m taking Chicago boy Daniel Pinkwater’s fragmented (and hilarious) memoir-of-sorts Uncle Boris in the Yukon and Other Shaggy Dog Stories–a gift from C.–and Erik Larson’s The Devil in the White City, which was recommended highly by a friend of Ernesto’s. If Ernesto trusts her, so do I. I’ve printed out Chris Reisor’s exhaustive list of Chicago restaurants–I plan to dine at five of ‘em, at least–and will probably gain back the 15 pounds I’ve lost this year. Thanks to Brian’s suggestion, I’m checking out the Dave Holland Quintet on the night of my arrival. I’ll also attend a taping of Wait, Wait… Don’t Tell Me, and then dash out of that to see the Hold Steady at the Metro that same night. Museum visits, neighborhood walks, shopping (books, comics, music), and architectural tours are also in the mix, along with (I’m sure) a few surprises.

So, I’ll have stories upon stories once I return. Thanks, everyone. See you in a week or so.

About Walter Biggins

Walter Biggins is a writer based in Athens, GA. His work has been published in RogerEbert.com, Bookslut, The Comics Journal, Salon, The Baseball Chronicle, Jackson Free Press, and Valley Voices: A Literary Review. Follow him on Twitter (@walter_biggins), and check out his bimonthly newsletter (https://tinyletter.com/Walter_Biggins).
This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

