Beach reading

My to-be-read stack of books already threatens to bury me, but I had to wipe it aside to make room for three new novels: Stephen Dixon’s End of I., Andrea Lee’s Lost Hearts in Italy, and Poppy Z. Brite’s Soul Kitchen. I’ve already plowed through the latter, but the other two beckon. Complicating things even further, Netflix has sent me the great gift of season 3 of The Wire.

The upshot is that, for the next week or two, I’m going to be out of contact. Oh, I might post the belated July edition of “Out and About,” and perhaps a commonplace quote. Beyond that, though, don’t expect much from Quiet Bubble. I encourage you to check out all the fine sites to your left. If you’re interested in catching up with QB, go to the right—I’ve updated the “Older Posts” section, there’s the Miyazaki Festival, and the archives stretch back to March 2005.

See you in a while.

About Walter Biggins

Walter Biggins is a writer based in Athens, GA. His work has been published in RogerEbert.com, Bookslut, The Comics Journal, Salon, The Baseball Chronicle, Jackson Free Press, and Valley Voices: A Literary Review. Follow him on Twitter (@walter_biggins), and check out his bimonthly newsletter (https://tinyletter.com/Walter_Biggins).
This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beach reading

  1. Susan says:

    QB, do report on the Andrea Lee novel when you finish it. I haven’t read it yet, but would like to.

  2. Walter says:

    You sorta read my mind. I’m planning a post on Andrea Lee in general, and will naturally write about her new one at length. I’m letting an idea percolate before I announce it, which is that I’ll (once a month) write a post about someone I consider to be an underrated or relatively undiscovered artist. Lee certainly qualifies; I’m not sure why she’s not better known.

Leave a Reply

