Man on man

In one of his Tales of the City novels, I can’t remember which one, Armistead Maupin mentions that Bruce Springsteen is the one man that it’s socially acceptable for hetero guys to have a crush on, and that most straight men would go all the way for Bruce if he asked. Okay, I buy that. Rhett Miller, the handsome frontman of the Old 97’s, has his thoughts on the matter:

When I hit thirty, I stopped giving a shit. This guy came up to me once and said, “I wish you looked like Jeff Tweedy [of Wilco]. It would make it so much easier to buy your records.” First of all, Jeff Tweedy is cute. I mean, he dresses like a schlump, he has a bad haircut and his clothes are bedraggled, but he’s cute. Second of all, I’m not gonna play that game. This is what I look like. This is how I dress. What is the deal with straight men and Jeff Tweedy? He’s the one guy they feel comfortable gushing over. I know some straight men who would switch teams for him. He’s tapped into something.

Which is pretty much how I felt about Miller throughout college. Then the Old 97’s started to suck around Satellite Rides, I left Dallas (his and my hometown), and I went back to unrequited crushes on women. Whee. Anyway, Miller’s good for a funny interview, even if his solo records ain’t so hot.

Outer Life, who’s had a fantastic March, tops it off with a cockeyed ode to one super jerkface of a guy.

And, finally, an old and longstanding Quiet Bubble man-crush: Paul “Funniest Motherfucker on the Planet” Beatty. In the San Francisco Bay Guardian, he’s interviewed about Hokum, the African American humor anthology he edited. Among other things, he reveals how the protagonist of The White Boy Shuffle got his surname. Go read it. If you haven’t read his two novels, go read them, too.

About Walter Biggins

Walter Biggins is a writer based in Athens, GA. His work has been published in RogerEbert.com, Bookslut, The Comics Journal, Salon, The Baseball Chronicle, Jackson Free Press, and Valley Voices: A Literary Review. Follow him on Twitter (@walter_biggins), and check out his bimonthly newsletter (https://tinyletter.com/Walter_Biggins).
This entry was posted in Current Affairs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

