Out and about

There’s a lot of good stuff out there. Here’s a roundup.

So, Crash won Best Picture. *SIGH* I’ve had various people ask me why I disliked this movie so intensely. I wrote briefly (you’ll have to scroll down a lot) on what the movie got wrong, but Borges once wrote that he recognized himself less in his own work than in those by other writers. In that spirit, I lead you to Matt Zoller Seitz, who nails what’s wrong about this bogus treatise on race in America.

I’ll turn to Borges again, but this time to praise rather than condemn. Billy Mernit sings a hymn for the Italian epic The Best of Youth, which may well be the best movie I’ve seen in five years.

Once upon a time, Terry Teachout traded the musician’s life for the writing life. He doesn’t regret it for a moment, but he got the rare chance to revisit the former.

The Onion interviewed filmmaker Whit Stillman upon the DVD release of his Metropolitan. Turns out he’s still alive after all. Film critic Charles Taylor is interviewed at length by Jeremiah Kipp. Taylor’s a Paulette, which has its limitations, but that also means that he’s a feisty interviewee.

Outer Life demonstrates an absurd love for certain words and, like Teachout, revisits his rock star days.

PopMatters has been having a good run lately. Chris Barsanti dissects exactly what’s right, Right, and wrong about 24. Gabriel Greenberg explores how comic books are increasingly becoming art objects. (He’ll all wet on Seth, by the way, but I’ll let it pass.) The always superb Mark Reynolds thinks hard about the beauty of black women.

Oh my god, I’m so old.

God bless the mighty Charles P. Pierce, who gives us the last word on “Deadeye” Dick Cheney.

And, finally, as a coda to the Altman Weekend, here’s a dissenter from the Cult of Saint Altman, of which I’m sometimes a member. Daryl Chin muses on about how poorly Robert Altman has treated some of his actresses. It’s a bracing tonic to the worshipful tone Altman inspires in most critics. I’d realized that Altman is sometimes petty, vindictive, and sometimes cruel—it comes across in his movies—but Chin nails it. Of course, a lot of this is gossip that I’m in no position to verify, but I’ve heard similar stories about Altman before.

That is all.

About Walter Biggins

Walter Biggins is a writer based in Athens, GA. His work has been published in RogerEbert.com, Bookslut, The Comics Journal, Salon, The Baseball Chronicle, Jackson Free Press, and Valley Voices: A Literary Review. Follow him on Twitter (@walter_biggins), and check out his bimonthly newsletter (https://tinyletter.com/Walter_Biggins).
This entry was posted in Current Affairs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Out and about

  1. mernitman says:

    Hey Mr. Bubble, thanks for blogrolling me — and I’m happy to meet other people who share my opinion of “The Best.” Saw it weeks ago… still thinking about it now. I look forward to reading more of you in the future.

Leave a Reply

