I don’t know why, but I think it’s hilarious that Scarlett Johannson calls him “Woodrow” and “Your Woodness”

Peter Biskind writes a long Vanity Fair profile on one of my favorite–if scattershot and ornery–filmmakers: Woody Allen. Biskind is far more complimentary, and far less critical, that I have been (see: Exhibit A), but it’s a startling profile of someone of someone who turns out to be somewhat drab. Still, if your jaw doesn’t drop when you read about him trying to cast Mia Farrow in Mighty Aphrodite, after the Soon-Yi affair, nothing will.

About Walter Biggins

Walter Biggins is a writer based in Athens, GA. His work has been published in RogerEbert.com, Bookslut, The Comics Journal, Salon, The Baseball Chronicle, Jackson Free Press, and Valley Voices: A Literary Review. Follow him on Twitter (@walter_biggins), and check out his bimonthly newsletter (https://tinyletter.com/Walter_Biggins).
This entry was posted in Film. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I don’t know why, but I think it’s hilarious that Scarlett Johannson calls him “Woodrow” and “Your Woodness”

  1. Chris Reisor says:

    Am I the only one who thinks “Match Point” was a total do-over of “Crimes and Misdemeanors?” That is probably my favorite Woody Allen film (by a hair over “Annie Hall”), so I know it well, and have seen it many times. I’ve heard him say over the years that he regrets adding the comic aspect (the subplot involving himself, Alan Alda, and Mia Farrow), and wishes he made it darker.
    Then comes “Match Point,” which was good, but I couldn’t help being totally distracted by the similarities. Even to the point where the main character comes *very* close to using an exact line from “Crimes and Misdemeanors” (it’s when he needs to go into town to see Scarlett, and he makes an excuse about forgetting some papers at the office).
    Of course, I always liked the comic aspects of “Crimes and Misdemeanors,” and always liked that at the end you could walk away feeling cold because there probably is no God, or happy, because you can see God in the life-affirming ways humans connect to each other through relationships. It all kind of depended on your mood when watching it. “Match Point” offers no such luxuries, and in many ways, I felt like it was written by a angst-ridden, angry college student trying to get laid by goth chicks, rather than a mature, experience-rich, aging artist.
    But I liked it…

  2. Walter (QB) says:

    Welcome back, Chris. I haven’t seen Match Point–alas, it hasn’t come to Jackson yet–but I too liked the comic aspects of C&M. To be honest, I think Woody totally underrates his comedy. I’m gonna be cliché here and say that his “dark” movies tend to be warmed-over Ingmar Bergman (who’s slightly overrated, anyway, but that’s a discussion for another day…), and that Woody can use laughs to get at essential truths about the human dilemma. That’s no mean feat, and it’s one he should appreciate more in himself. All these people who think comedy is a lesser form than tragedy–including Woody–are full of it.

Leave a Reply

