The meta-bigot

Okay, so I’m obviously waaaaaay behind the zeitgeist, as I had only vaguely heard of Sarah Silverman before seeing her in School of Rock. Once I recognized her, I realized that I’d also seen glimpses of her in There’s Something About Mary and Heartbreakers. Now that I’ve heard and seen portions of her stand-up routines, I’m still wondering: What’s the big deal?

Seriously. This year, she’s been everywhere. Last month, there was a long New Yorker profile. Practically every review of The Aristocrats made a point of mentioning Silverman’s contribution to the movie. She’s the subject of not one but two articles posted today on Slate. Presumably, all this attention is timed to the new movie Silverman is selling.

I wish I found her as funny, attractive, and controversial as everyone else seems to. Instead, I just find her tiresome. I think TMFTML has the best take on her–it’s as funny and mean as Silverman thinks she is.

(I should note that the first Slate piece to which I linked is actually very good, and has larger concerns than “That Silverman girl sure is purty; shame about that foul mouth.”)

About Walter Biggins

Walter Biggins is a writer based in Athens, GA. His work has been published in RogerEbert.com, Bookslut, The Comics Journal, Salon, The Baseball Chronicle, Jackson Free Press, and Valley Voices: A Literary Review. Follow him on Twitter (@walter_biggins), and check out his bimonthly newsletter (https://tinyletter.com/Walter_Biggins).
This entry was posted in Current Affairs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

