After the storm

Downed_power_lines_in_ridgeland

Yesterday, I sat huddled in my apartment, watching 45mph winds whip roof shingles and tree limbs around like dandelion puffs. The rain blew horizontally for four hours straight. Parts of the Pearl River, which cuts through the city, flooded. I lost cable access around 4:30pm, and lost the ability to call long-distance an hour later. Power outages darkened roughly half of the city, and my toilet won’t flush unless I add water to it from the bathroom sink. My cat spent most of the day wide-eyed and shivering.

Today, leaves blanket the ground, but otherwise all looks calm. The sun is shining. To quote Bruce Springsteen, “the sky is an unbelievable blue.” Compared to what happened on the Gulf Coast and in New Orleans, I feel lucky. Damn lucky. For a sense of why I feel this way, read today’s report from the Jackson Clarion-Ledger for news from across the state. See this photo gallery for photos of Jackson-area damage. Work was cancelled today—no power in my office building—so I’ll take a walk this afternoon to assess the neighborhood.

For now, though, I’m going back to bed. See you later this week.

About Walter Biggins

Walter Biggins is a writer based in Athens, GA. His work has been published in RogerEbert.com, Bookslut, The Comics Journal, Salon, The Baseball Chronicle, Jackson Free Press, and Valley Voices: A Literary Review. Follow him on Twitter (@walter_biggins), and check out his bimonthly newsletter (https://tinyletter.com/Walter_Biggins).
This entry was posted in Current Affairs. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to After the storm

  1. Susan says:

    QB, where was your photo taken? Ridgewood Road?
    Glad you’re okay!

  2. QB says:

    Alas, I don’t own (yet) a digital camera, so I didn’t take the photo. It comes from the Clarion-Ledger‘s photo gallery that I linked to. It was shot on Rice Road in Ridgeland, just north of Jackson. (Here’s a direct link to the photo. Oddly enough, I live near Ridgewood Road, in north central Jackson.

  3. Glad to hear you made it through safely.

  4. dad says:

    considering what is happening on the coast and in n.o.la, you and the folks in jackson are blessed. continue to update your site on what you know/experienced and status of your city, etc., as it relates to the aftermath of katrina.

Leave a Reply

