Melophobe Months: A new (and free) zine

vinyl-recordIt’s been two years since my last zine.

But I’m back. Here it is, as a free PDF: Melophobe Months.

Tell your friends. Spread the word.

This one features music reviews that I wrote for melophobe, a Portland-based magazine that went kablooey last year. Ah well. It was fun while it lasted; in fact, it was so much fun that I was sorry to see these short pieces disappear into the ether.

So, I’ve rescued them. The format’s a little unusual, as I explain in the zine’s introduction:

The 50-word review is essentially critical haiku. There’s no room for sustained (and longwinded) analysis—my preferred mode. Instead, I had to work out my feelings on a record in three, maybe four sentences. I had to, usually, concentrate on a single core element that defined the whole. I had to make bold, succinct statements that, in a longer essay, I would’ve qualified or hemmed and hawed about. 50-worders forced me to be blunt, be harsh, and open myself for hard questions by unequivocally saying what I meant.

Melophobe Months also features a longish essay on my troubled relationship with pop and “authenticity” in art. That’s exactly as exciting as it sounds but you may find it amusing.

Anyway, the zine is free. Feel free to post it on your blog, Tweet it, Tumblr it, etc., so long as you give me appropriate credit. While you’re at it, check out my other zines as well. Enjoy.

About Walter Biggins

Walter Biggins is a writer based in Athens, GA. His work has been published in RogerEbert.com, Bookslut, The Comics Journal, Salon, The Baseball Chronicle, Jackson Free Press, and Valley Voices: A Literary Review. Follow him on Twitter (@walter_biggins), and check out his bimonthly newsletter (https://tinyletter.com/Walter_Biggins).
This entry was posted in Music, Zines. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Melophobe Months: A new (and free) zine

  1. Pingback: 50-worders: Daft Punk & Vampire Weekend | Quiet Bubble

  2. Pingback: 50-worders: Kanye West and Lady | Quiet Bubble

Leave a Reply

